Asta Prahar



"Asta Prahar" is a term commonly used in Indian classical music to divide a 24-hour day into eight segments of approximately three hours each. Each prahar represents a specific time period and is associated with a particular mood or quality of music. The term "asta prahar" translates to "eight watches" or "eight divisions of time."

Here's a breakdown of the eight asta prahar divisions:

Prahar 1: Pradosh kaal (Evening Twilight) - This prahar starts around sunset and lasts for approximately three hours. It is associated with a serene and contemplative mood.

Prahar 2: Saanjh kaal (Early Night) - This prahar follows the evening twilight and lasts until late evening. It is characterized by a calm and introspective atmosphere.

Prahar 3: Ratri kaal (Late Night) - This prahar represents the late hours of the night. It is associated with a peaceful and meditative ambiance.

Prahar 4: Brahma muhurta (Before Dawn) - This prahar occurs during the early morning hours, approximately one and a half to two hours before sunrise. It is considered an auspicious time for spiritual practices and meditation.

Prahar 5: Pratah kaal (Early Morning) - This prahar encompasses the early morning hours just after sunrise. It is associated with a sense of freshness, optimism, and energy.

Prahar 6: Sangiita kaal (Morning) - This prahar follows the early morning and represents the mid-morning hours. It is often associated with vibrant and joyful music.

Prahar 7: Dopahar kaal (Afternoon) - This prahar covers the afternoon hours. It is associated with a lively and energetic atmosphere.

Prahar 8: Shaam kaal (Evening) - This prahar occurs in the late afternoon and early evening hours. It is characterized by a transition from the busyness of the day towards a more serene and reflective state.

The concept of Asta Prahar provides a framework for understanding the different times of the day and the corresponding moods or energies associated with them, which can influence the choice of music, meditation, or activities during those times.

Usha kaal, also known as Brahma muhurta, is a specific time period in the early morning that holds great significance in Hinduism. It is considered the most auspicious and spiritually charged time of the day. Usha kaal is the period approximately 1.5 hours before sunrise, typically lasting from 4:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m., although the exact timing may vary depending on the season and geographical location.

According to Hindu tradition, this time is believed to be ideal for engaging in spiritual practices, meditation, yoga, and chanting mantras. It is said that during this period, the environment is calm, pure, and filled with positive energy. The mind is considered to be fresh, clear, and receptive to spiritual pursuits.

What is Usha Kaal:

Usha kaal is associated with the deity Brahma, the creator in Hindu mythology. It is believed that Brahma performs his divine activities during this time, and individuals who wake up early and utilize this period for spiritual practices can receive his blessings and guidance.

Many spiritual practitioners, yogis, and seekers make it a practice to wake up during the Usha kaal to engage in their daily spiritual routines. It is considered a time of inner stillness and quietude, allowing individuals to connect with their inner selves and experience a deeper sense of peace and spiritual awakening.

Engaging in meditation, prayer, or any other spiritual practice during the Usha kaal is believed to have numerous benefits, including increased concentration, mental clarity, heightened spiritual experiences, and overall well-being.

It is important to note that while Usha kaal is highly regarded in Hindu tradition, the practice of waking up during this time for spiritual purposes is a personal choice and may vary among individuals based on their lifestyle, commitments, and personal preferences.

In the context of muhurta (auspicious timing) in Hindu astrology, the day is divided into eight segments known as "Muhurta Choghadiya" or "Choghadiya Panchang." Each segment, also called a choghadiya, is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes long and is associated with specific qualities and suitability for various activities.

The eight segments or Choghadiyas are as follows:

  1. Amrit Choghadiya: This segment is considered highly auspicious and favorable for important ceremonies, business deals, and any new beginnings.
  2. Shubh Choghadiya: Shubh Choghadiya is also considered auspicious and suitable for various activities, including travel, starting new ventures, and religious rituals.
  3. Labh Choghadiya: Labh Choghadiya is associated with prosperity, gains, and positive outcomes. It is favorable for financial investments, trading, and business-related activities.
  4. Char Choghadiya: Char Choghadiya is generally considered neutral and is suitable for routine tasks and activities that do not require special auspiciousness.
  5. Rog Choghadiya: Rog Choghadiya is considered inauspicious and is best avoided for initiating new projects or important events. It is associated with health-related matters and is suitable for seeking medical advice or undergoing treatments.
  6. Kaal Choghadiya: Kaal Choghadiya is also considered inauspicious and is generally avoided for initiating any new activities. It is associated with obstacles, delays, and challenges.
  7. Udveg Choghadiya: Udveg Choghadiya is considered unfavorable and associated with restlessness, anxiety, and disturbances. It is best to avoid initiating any important events during this segment.
  8. Shubh Ratri Choghadiya: Shubh Ratri Choghadiya, as the name suggests, is the auspicious segment during nighttime. It is suitable for spiritual practices, meditation, and introspection.

The Choghadiya system is widely used by astrologers and individuals in Hindu culture to determine the most suitable timing for various activities, ensuring a favorable outcome and minimizing negative influences. It is important to consult with an expert or refer to a reliable Choghadiya Panchang for accurate timings and interpretations based on your specific location and personal astrological factors.

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

HTML tutorial
HTML tutorial